White Cross School Blog


NC Literary Hall of Fame



The Ruin Season by Kristopher Triana

Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing
$14.95, paperback
ISBN: 978-1-943720071
June, 2016
Fiction: Southern Gothic / Crimei Noir
Available from your local bookstore or www.Amazon.com

"The Ruin Season by Kristopher Triana portrays mental illness and small town dynamics with a grit and a fearlessness I've rarely seen before."
Dead End Follies

"Richly rendered in character and setting, and an emotional clarity that rings that Lansdale/McCarthy bell and puts the thrill in thriller."
Ginger Nuts of Horror

"I wouldn’t be surprised to find this on a few best of lists come the end of the year. I know it will definitely be on mine. Absolutely superb."
The Grim Reader

Jake Leonard has his share of trouble.

He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things get even more complicated, and the limits of love and sanity get pushed to the breaking point.

The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a cruel world. It is a story of unrequited love and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Daniel Woodrell, Stewart O'Nan, and Cormac McCarthy. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of mental illness as well as the seedy underbelly of small town America.

Kristopher Triana is the author of The Ruin Season, Body Art, and Growing Dark, the latter of which was called "a must read" by Rue Morgue Magazine. His work has appeared in many magazines and anthologies, including the D.O.A Extreme Horror series, The Year's Best Hardcore Horror, and Stiff Things, to name a few. His work has been translated to Russian, and Festa Verlag will be releasing a German-language edition of his novel Body Art in late 2017. He had drawn praise from Cemetery Dance, Publisher's Weekly, Rue Morgue Magazine,The Ginger Nuts of Horror, and The Horror Fiction Review.

He works as a professional dog trainer and lives in North Carolina with his wife.

Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack