White Cross School Blog


NC Literary Hall of Fame




Doris Betts Fiction Prize
Submission Deadline: February 15 (annual)

The Doris Betts Fiction Prize awards the first-prize winner $250 and publication in the North Carolina Literary Review. Finalists will also be considered for publication in the NCLR.

Eligibility and Guidelines

  • The competition is open to any writer who is a legal resident of North Carolina or a member of the North Carolina Writers’ Network. North Carolina Literary Review subscribers with North Carolina connections (lives or has lived in NC) are also eligible.
  • The competition is for previously unpublished short stories up to 6,000 words. Multiple entries ok, but each requires a separate entry fee. No novel excerpts. Stories do NOT have to relate to NCLR’s annual special feature topic.
  • The deadline is February 15.
  • Simultaneous submissions ok, but please notify us immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere.
  • Submit previously unpublished stories online at Submittable will collect your entry fee via credit card ($10 NCWN members or NCLR subscribers / $20 for non-members/non-subscribers).
  • To pay submission fees by check or money order, make payable to the North Carolina Writers Network and mail to: Ed Southern, PO Box 21591, Winston-Salem, NC 27120- 1591
  • Documents must be Microsoft Word or .rtf files. Stories should be double-spaced. Author's name should not appear on manuscripts. (Submittable will collect and record your name and contact information.) If you have any problems submitting electronically, email NCLR's This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
  • If submitting by mail, mail story manuscript with a cover sheet providing name, address, email address, word count, and manuscript title, to:

ECU Mailstop
555 English
Greenville, NC 27858-4353
(but mail payment to the Network as per instructions above)

The winner and finalists will be announced by May 1. The winning story and select finalists will be published in the next year’s issue of the North Carolina Literary Review.

Questions may be directed to Margaret Bauer, Editor of the North Carolina Literary Review, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Past Winners

First Place: Brad Field, Wilmington, NC
Honorable Mention: Kathryn Etters Lovatt, Southport, NC

First Place: Laura Herbst, Pittsboro, NC
Honorable Mention: Taylor Brown, Wilmington, NC
Honorable Mention: Jude Whelchel, Asheville, NC

First Place: Claudette Cohen, Carolina Beach, NC
Honorable Mention: Annie Frazier, Ocala, FL
Honorable Mention: Donald Marple, Charlotte, NC
Honorable Mention: Seth Peavey, Raleigh, NC

First Place: Leah Hampton, Waynesville, NC
Honorable Mention: Gregg Cusick, Durham, NC
Honorable Mention: Ron Jackson, Durham, NC
Honorable Mention: Kathryn Lovatt, Camden, SC

First Place: Thomas Wolf, Chapel Hill, NC
Second Place: Joseph Cavano, Charlotte, NC
Honorable Mention: Gwendolyn Bikis, Oakland, CA
Honorable Mention: Carol Cooley, Wake Forest, NC
Honorable Mention: Doris Iarovici, Durham, NC
Honorable Mention: Sandra Lunsford Mason, Marshall, NC

First Place: Robert Wallace, Durham, NC
Honorable Mention: Wayne Johns
Honorable Mention: Susan Snowden, Hendersonville, NC

First Place: David McGuirt, Charlotte, NC
Honorable Mention: Marjorie Hudson, Pittsboro, NC
Honorable Mention: Melanie Raskin, Chapel Hill, NC
Honorable Mention: Kuruvilla Verghese, Raleigh, NC

First Place: Malcolm Campbell, Charlotte, NC
Second Place: Gregg Cusick, Durham, NC

First Place: Thomas Wolf, Chapel Hill, NC
Second Place: Gregg Cusick, Durham, NC

Joomla Templates: from JoomlaShack