Skip to content

A More Urgent Call

This morning I received the following message from ARTS North Carolina.  Please take a moment to contact the legislators listed below, especially if you live (and vote) in one of the districts they represent.  Any Network member with questions about state funding for the arts, and how it affects the Network, is welcome to contact me at ed@ncwriters.org.

“The House General Government (committee) released its budget recommendations that include a 23% cut in the grants program for the North Carolina Arts Council ($1,500,000) and a 15% overall Department of Cultural Resources reduction. IMMEDIATE ACTION IS REQUIRED. This unfair recommendation can be changed by the Appropriations Chairs and Republican members of the House General Government Committee.

Be strong, loud, and respectfully angry. Keep it short but clear. Use only one of the following points in your own words. Complete this Call To Action no later than Thursday, 12 noon. Forward this Call to others and strongly encourage action.

THE CONSTANT MESSAGE SHOULD BE:   RESTORE THE CUTS TO THE NORTH CAROLINA ARTS COUNCIL’S GRANTS PROGRAMS TO THE GOVERNOR’S RECOMMENDED 10%

Why would the leadership in North Carolina disproportionately target an industry that:

  • produces programs and revenue in all 100 counties?
  • produces $223 million in revenue and serves 9 million attendees yearly?
  • matches every dollar of state money with an additional seventeen dollars?
  • Will be forced to raise ticket prices and therefore negatively affect the local economy in related spending in restaurants and retail?
  • Is good for business in our state?

THE ARTS ARE REVENUE PRODUCERS, NOT REVENUE CONSUMERS

Call To Action:
Call the Raleigh offices of the House Appropriations Chairs:

Representative Harold Brubaker
919-715-4946
Harold.Brubaker@ncleg.net

Representative Jeff Barnhart
919-715-2009
Jeff.Barnhart@ncleg.net

Representative Mitch Gillespie
919-733-5862
Mitch.Gillespie@ncleg.net

Representative Linda Johnson
919-733-5861
Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net

Call the Raleigh offices of the House General Government Chairs: (Republicans)

Representative George Cleveland
919-715-6707
George.Cleveland@ncleg.net

Representative Dale Folwell
919-733-5787
Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net

Representative Glen Bradley
919-733-5860
Glen.Bradley@ncleg.net

Representative Mike Hager
919-733-5749
Mike.Hager@ncleg.net

Representative Kelly Hastings
919-715-2002
Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net

Representative Grey Mills
919-733-5741
Grey.Mills@ncleg.net

Representative Ruth Samuelson
919-715-3009
Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net

Representative John Torbett
919-733-5868
John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Send an email only if you are unable to reach the Raleigh office.

For additional advocacy information, see Arts North Carolina’s new website at www.artsnc.org.
Please forward responses to your communications to advocacy@artsnc.org.”

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *
*
*