Logo for: North Carolina Writer's Network
Back to Book Buzz

Bitternut Creek

Bitternut Creek

By David Andrew WestwoodPublisher: davidandrewwestwood.comISBN: 979-8-218-44207-1Genre: Historical FictionPrice: $9.99
Available from: Amazon

Pinkney and Micah grow up friends on a Virginia tobacco plantation. 16 year-old Pinkney is a poor and uneducated worker, while Micah, two years his senior, is the rich son of Big Master.

When Micah joins up as an officer in the Confederate Army his mother asks Pinkney, who is more experienced with firearms, to follow and protect him. During the summer’s battles at Falling Waters and Manassas, Pinkney does his best to do so.

But the Civil War has other plans.

Westwood is the author of Belmédon, 1914; Denderbeck, 1915; Otterbrook, 1916; Vaterland, 1917; Charentin, 1918; Emmerspitz, 1938; Deauvenoy, 1939; Kelsmeath, 1940; Tullykillane, 1941; Køpersund, 1942; Valdinato, 1943; Mossingdene, 1944; Onishiwan, 1945; Paisley Tree House; Clairvoyeur; The Sea Denied a Sailor; and Gallery of Daydreams. His WWII Series has won a gold and two silver stars from the Military Writers Society of America, and one of his short stories was a finalist for 2024’s Doris Betts Prize.


Bitternut Creek follows Private Pinkney through skirmishes and battles of the Civil War as well as clashes with his own conscience. He crosses paths with finely developed characters, not the least being the object of his adoration: a female reporter much in the mold of Nellie Bly. And by these relationships we glimpse the war from both the bottom up and top down. Reminiscent of Cold Mountain with the innocence of Huckleberry Finn, any buff of the period will be clamoring for a follow-up.

— Gaoler, Amazon reader