Logo for: North Carolina Writer's Network
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Hybrid Book Launch – Here in the Dark by Meagan Lucas – in Conversation with Nathan Ballingrud | Asheville

August 8, 2023 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Here in the Dark, the first collection from award-winning, WNC-based author Meagan Lucas, is a gritty, genre-blending wallop of short stories, set mostly in Southern Appalachia, that explore the female experience of lawlessness. In the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Bonnie Jo Campbell, Lucas tackles, with unsettling honesty: poverty, addiction, motherhood, and social justice in an increasingly troubled cultural climate. These are character-driven stories about crime, but less a who-done-it mystery and more a meditation on how the vulnerable navigate a world devoid of true justice. Unflinching in its gaze, Here in the Dark is an ambitious collection from a bold and empathetic storyteller.

Meagan will be in conversation with fellow Asheville author, Nathan Ballingrud.

This is a hybrid event with limited in-store seating and the option to attend online. The event is free but registration is required for both in-person and virtual attendance.

Free but registration required.

Details

Date:
August 8, 2023
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.malaprops.com/event/hybrid-book-launch-here-dark-meagan-lucas-conversation-nathan-ballingrud

Venue

Malaprop’s Bookstore
55 Haywood Street
Asheville, North Carolina
+ Google Map