NC Literary Hall of Fame

 

 

The Hive Queen by Robin Kirk

Blue Crow Publishing
$14.99, paperback
ISBN: 978-1-947834-48-4
August, 2020
Fiction: YA / Fantasy

"This second installment in The Bond Trilogy is fantastic! The Hive Queen takes the point of view of Fir as he leads his brothers on an epic journey to escape the Weave. The characters are fantastic, and as usual, Kirk's language leaps off the page."
—Katie Rose Guest Pryal, award-winning author of Entanglement, Chasing Chaos, and Fallout Girl

"I loved the continuing adventure of Fir and Dinitra. Another smart, action-packed thrill ride of a dystopian adventure. This series is a hidden gem--a little sci-fi with a whole lot of heart."
—Lauren Faulkenberry, award-winning author of Trouble in Bayou: Sabine and Bayou Whispers

Praise for Robin Kirk's The Bond, the first in The Bond Trilogy: 

“Fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Never Let Me Go will devour The Bond.”
—Lisa Williams Kline, award-winning author of One Week of You

In the second book in the INDIE-award-winning Bond Trilogy, warrior Fir leads his brothers on a quest for salvation that will threaten everything he holds dear.

After the battle that toppled the Weave, warrior Fir leads his brothers east to escape servitude, or worse—death at the hands of rival warriors. They search for the fabled Master of Men who promises freedom for men in the Weave. But their quest leads them to a foe more dangerous than they could have imagined.

When the beautiful Hive Queen, Odide, bespells Fir, he’s compelled to betray his brothers—and risks dooming them all to an unspeakable fate. To survive, Fir must choose between his loyalty to his brothers, his allegiance to the Queen, and his love for Dinitra.

But salvation is not what it seems. When the worlds of the Hive and the Master collide, it triggers a devastating betrayal that leaves Fir with an impossible choice: can he sacrifice his brothers for the love he thought he could never have?

Kirk is the author of The Bond, the first in a fantasy trilogy published by Blue Crow Publishing. Foreward Reviews awarded The Bond its Bronze award for best YA in 2018. Book II, The Hive Queen, is due out in August, 2020. Kirk's other books include More Terrible than Death: Massacres, Drugs and America’s War in Colombia (PublicAffairs) and The Monkey’s Paw: New Chronicles from Peru (University of Massachusetts Press). She coedits the The Peru Reader: History, Culture, Politics (Duke University) and is an editor of Duke University Press’s World Readers series.

 
Joomla Templates: from JoomlaShack