NC Literary Hall of Fame





RALEIGH—Jaki Shelton Green. Zelda Lockhart. Scott Huler. Ian Finley. John Claude Bemis. And you?

The Piedmont Laureate program is accepting applications from authors of short fiction for 2014. Authors must be residents of Wake, Alamance, Durham, or Orange counties. The deadline to apply is September 27 at 4:00 pm.

From the City of Raleigh Public Affairs Department:

"The primary goal of the Piedmont Laureate program is 'to promote awareness and heighten appreciation for excellence in the literary arts throughout the Piedmont region.' The program is dedicated to building a literary bridge for residents to come together and celebrate the art of writing, enriching the lives of all our citizens. The laureate program focuses each year on a different literary form."

Children's author Bemis is the current Piedmont Laureate, and the authors listed above have all been honored over the years by a select committee appointed by the sponsoring agencies. The laureates receive stipends of $6,500 and serve for one year (Jan. 1 to Dec. 31). Activities of the laureate include presenting readings and workshops, encouraging creative writing, and promoting literature at public events.

Additional information on the Piedmont Laureate program, including guidelines and the application form, is available at or on the websites of the sponsoring agencies:

  • Alamance County Arts Council
  • City of Raleigh Arts Commission
  • Durham Arts Council
  • Orange County Arts Commission
  • United Arts Council of Raleigh & Wake County


Established in 1977 as the official advisory body and advocate for the arts to the Raleigh City Council, the City of Raleigh Arts Commission holds the distinction of being the first municipal arts commission created in North Carolina. Serving as the leading force to champion the arts with Raleigh citizens and their representatives, the Arts Commission’s myriad activities foster, support and promote the arts in the Capital City.

Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack