Back to Nonfiction Opportunities


Deadline April 30. Brevity publishes flash nonfiction: crisp, concise essays of 750 words or fewer. Authors are paid a $45 honorarium for featured essays and craft essays. See guidelines here.

About the Journal

For more than two decades, Brevity: A Journal of Concise Literary Nonfiction has published well-known and emerging writers working in the brief essay form, along with craft essays and book reviews. Though still committed to the mission of publishing new and emerging writers, Brevity has been fortunate over the years to include the work of Pulitzer prize winners, NEA fellows, Pushcart winners, Best American authors, and writers from India, Egypt, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, The Netherlands, and Japan. Authors published in Brevity include Diane Seuss, Roxane Gay, Ander Monson, Caitlin Horrocks, Daisy Hernandez, Jennifer Percy, Brenda Miller, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Abigail Thomas, Lia Purpura, David L. Ulin, Heather Sellers, Matthew Gavin Frank, Lee Martin, Rebecca McClanahan, Barbara Hurd, Bret Lott, Ira Sukrungruang, Rigoberto González, Judith Kitchen, Michael Martone, and Jenny Boully.

Work from Brevity has been anthologized and reprinted in venues including Creative Nonfiction, Fourth Genre, Utne Reader, the Short Takes anthology, the Best Creative Nonfiction anthology, and many recent writing textbooks.

Over the past year Brevity drew more than 13,000 unique visitors per month, while the Brevity Blog currently has more than 80,000 followers.