Back to Residencies & Fellowships Opportunities

Granum Foundation Prizes (Deadline: August 1)

Applications for the 2024 Granum Foundation Prize and Granum Foundation Translation Prize are open from May 1 until August 1 at 11:59 pm Pacific Time.

The Granum Foundation Prize is awarded annually to help U.S.-based writers complete substantive literary works—such as poetry books, essay or short story collections, novels, and memoirs—or to help launch these works.

Additionally, the Granum Foundation Translation Prize is awarded annually to support the completion of a work translated into English by a U.S.-based writer.

Funding from both prizes can be used to provide a writer with the tools, time, and freedom to help ensure their success. For example, resources may be used to cover basic needs, equipment purchases, mentorship, or editing services.

Competitive applicants will be able to present a compelling project with a reasonable timeline for completion. They also should be able to demonstrate a record of commitment to the literary arts.

The Granum Foundation is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion, and welcomes applicants from all backgrounds.

Granum Foundation Prize

Prize: One winner will be awarded $5,000. Up to three finalists will be awarded $500 or more.

Granum Foundation Translation Prize

Prize: One winner will receive $1,500 or more.


  • Winners and finalists who received cash prizes from previous Granum competitions are not eligible.
  • Writers who have published more than five books, including chapbooks, are not eligible. Literary journals and anthologies are not included in this count.
  • Only U.S. residents 18+ are eligible for funding, and prizes must be spent in the U.S.
  • Funds cannot be used specifically for travel or for study at an educational institution.
  • At this time, we are not accepting screenplays, stage plays, or children’s picture books.
  • Only one entry is allowed per person.

Learn more and apply.