Back to Fiction Opportunities

Lambda Literary Prizes for LGBTQ+ Writers

In addition to the Lammy Awards, Lambda Literary hosts a number of special prizes recognizing the outstanding contributions made by individuals to LGBTQ+ literature, culture, and community. These cash prizes are made possible by the generosity of our donors and announced around the Lammys. The special prizes being offered in 2023 are: 

  • Randall Kenan Prize for Black LGBTQ Fiction
  • Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian/Queer Nonfiction
  • Judith A. Markowitz Award for Exceptional New LGBTQ Writers
  • Jim Duggins, PhD Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist Prize
  • The J. Michael Samuel Prize for Emerging Writers Over 50

Learn more and how to submit here.

Submissions open in January of the award year. For the 2023 cycle, submissions will open 12:01am ET on January 16th, 2023 – 11:59pm ET on February 17th, 2023. Each special prize has its own guidelines and submissions contents.