Back to Fiction Opportunities

The Orison Prizes in Poetry & Fiction

Each year from December 1 – April 1 we accept submissions of full-length poetry (50 – 100 pp.) and fiction (minimum 30,000 words) manuscripts for consideration for The Orison Prizes in Poetry & Fiction. Fiction manuscripts may be a collection of short stories or flash fiction, a novella, or a novel. Do not include any identifying information in your manuscript or file name. Original English work only; no translations. Finalists will be selected by the editorial staff at Orison Books, and a winner will be selected in each genre by different prominent writers acting as contest judges each year. Current or former students of the judge in the genre in which they are submitting, or anyone with a close personal relationship with that judge, are not eligible to submit. In the event that a judge does not select a winner in their genre from among the finalists, the Editor will select a winner. The editors also reserve the right to select no finalists, in which case all entry fees will be refunded to contest entrants. All finalist manuscripts will be considered for publication under a standard royalties contract. We plan to announce winners and finalists by October 1, 2023. Winners will receive payment by November 1, 2023. Learn how to apply here.

The winner in each genre will receive a $1,500 cash prize, publication, and a standard royalties contract.

Entry Fee: $25
2023 Judges: Pádraig Ó Tuama (poetry) and David Heska Wanbli Weiden (fiction)
Entry Period: December 1, 2022 – April 1, 2023
Electronic submissions only.

Orison Books seeks to be broad, inclusive, and open to perspectives spanning the spectrums of spiritual and religious thought, ethnicity, gender identity, and sexual orientation.