Back to Blog

Fellowship of Southern Writers Award Winners

Possibly lost in the mayhem of the last two weeks: The Fellowship of Southern Writers has announced their 2020 award winners.

North Carolina author Wiley Cash won the Hillsdale Award for Fiction. Cash is The New York Times bestselling author of three novels, including The Last Ballad, winner of the Southern Book Prize for Literary Fiction. He is the Writer-in-Residence at the University of North Carolina-Ashville.

Western North Carolina historian Dan T. Carter won the Woodward-Franklin Award for Historical Writing. His The Politics of Rage, Scottsboro: A Tragedy of the American South won the Jules and Frances Landry Award. He is a former history professor at South Carolina University.

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton won the George Garrett New Writing Award. Her debut novel, A Kind of Freedom, was a 2017 National Book Award Nominee, a New York Times Notable Book of 2017, New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice, and won the 2019 Crook’s Corner Book Prize based in Chapel Hill, NC.

For a full list of winners, click here.

Founded in 1987 by a group of writers who met in Chattanooga, the Fellowship of Southern Writers is a nonprofit organization which encourages the creation and development of literature in the South.

The FSW achieves its mission by commemorating outstanding literary achievement, encouraging young writers through awards, prizes, and fellowships, and by recognizing distinction in writing by election to membership.