Back to Blog

See you at the NCPS Meeting in Southern Pines!

Outside at Weymouth

We’re looking forward to the annual meeting of the North Carolina Poetry Society on Saturday, September 14, at the Weymouth Center for the Arts & Humanities in Southern Pines!

NCWN Communications Director Charles Fiore will introduce the winner and finalists of the 2019 Randall Jarrell Poetry Competition. Alan Michael Parker, Annie Woodford, Michael Boccardo, Sandra Ann Winters, and Kathryn Kirkpatrick will read their poems.

Other highlights of the day include readings by Tina Barr, whose poetry collection Green Target won the 2019 Brockman-Campbell Book Award, and finalists Pamela Badgett, Valerie Nieman, and Wayne Johns—NCWN members, all.

NCWN member and poet Kathy Ackerman will read from her collection A Quarrell of Atoms, which won the 2019 Lena Shull Poetry Book Contest.

Benjamin Cutler, the NCWN Regional Rep for Swain County, will read as well. Benjamin was awarded the 2019 Susan Laughter Myers Fellowship; he receives $500 and a residency at Weymouth.

Other programs include poet Bingo; an open mic; and readings from Susan Laughter Meyers’ posthumous collection, Self-Portrait in the River of Déjà Vu (Press 53).

For more information and a detailed schedule of the meeting, click here.

For more information on the North Carolina Poetry Society, click here.

The sun always shines in Southern Pines. (I think we just made that up?!?) See you there!