Back to Blog

Nominations Open for 2013 North Carolina Awards

Gary Carden, 2012 North Carolina Award for Literature
Gary Carden, 2012 North Carolina Award for Literature

The 2013 North Carolina Awards are now accepting nominations. These prestigious awards recognize “notable accomplishments by North Carolina citizens in the fields of scholarship, research, the fine arts and public leadership.” Awards are presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to artistic and literary expression, scientific achievement, and civic leadership.

Individuals may be nominated in the following categories:

  • Fine Arts
  • Literature
  • Public Service
  • Science

To nominate an individual for a North Carolina Award, go to The nomination deadline is also Tax Day: April 15, 2013.

Who qualifies for a North Carolina Award? Recipients must have made significant, documented contributions to the State of North Carolina in one of the awards categories; recipients must have been born in North Carolina or, if originally from elsewhere, must be current residents of North Carolina; and recipients must agree to attend the awards presentation to receive the award.

NCWN member and Sylva storyteller Gary Garden won the 2012 North Carolina Award for Literature. This is the highest award North Carolina can bestow upon a citizen.