Back to Blog

OC Library Celebrates NC Writers

The Orange County Public Library is celebrating North Carolina writers this month. They’re offering a specially curated catalog list, featuring Tar Heel luminaries such as Sarah Dessen, Ron Rash,  and David Sedaris, and North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame inductees Allan Gurganus, Margaret Maron, Robert Morgan, Lee Smith, and more.

While the library building remains closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, curbside service is available. They’re also offering a robust program of virtual events.

For more about the Orange County Public Library, click here. For more about the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, click here.

This celebration of NC authors comes just in time for summer: anyone looking for good books to read at the beach or at the campsite could do much worse than selecting books at random from this curated list. From mysteries to humor to science fiction to literary fiction, North Carolina authors have all tastes covered.

The main library is located at 137 W Margaret Lane in Hillsborough, 919.245.2525. Operating hours at this location are Mon-Sat, 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. This library system also operates locations in Carrboro.