Back to Blog

Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize deadline extended

Due to the inclement weather affecting much of North Carolina (including my driveway; we could run Olympic bobsled trials on it), the postmark deadline for the 2010 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize has been extended to December 23.

Here again, for your reference, are the guidelines:

The Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize honors internationally celebrated North Carolina novelist Thomas Wolfe. The winner receives $1,000 and possible publication in The Thomas Wolfe Review. The final judge for the 2010 award is novelist Sheri Reynolds. Reynolds graduated from Davidson College in 1989 and received her MFA in creative writing from Virginia Commonwealth University in 1992. She is the author of five novels. Her second novel, The Rapture of Canaan, was an Oprah Book Club selection. Her most recent novel is The Sweet In-Between (2008). She is professor of English and the Ruth and Perry Morgan Chair of Southern Literature at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia.

Eligibility and Guidelines

  1. The Thomas Wolfe Fiction competition is open to all writers without regard to geographical region or previous publication.
  2. Entrants should submit 2 copies of an unpublished fiction manuscript not to exceed 12 double-spaced pages.
  3. Names should not appear on manuscripts but on a separate sheet along with address, phone number, e-mail address, and manuscript title.
  4. Entries will not be returned.
  5. An entry fee must accompany manuscripts: $15 for members of the NCWN, $25 for nonmembers. You may pay the member entry fee if you join the Network with your submission.

The winner is announced in April.

Send submissions, indicating name of competition, to:
Professor Tony Abbott
PO Box 7096
Davidson College
Davidson, NC 28035

Checks should be made payable to the North Carolina Writers’ Network.