Logo for: North Carolina Writer's Network

Hats Off!

Good news from our members!

The North Carolina Writers’ Network is happy to announce good news from our members. If you have had a piece published, won a prize in a competition, or received an award or honor for your writing, let us know and we’ll post the news here. “Hats Off” announcements are available to members only.

Hats Off to Barbara Johnson!

Barbara Johnson has published her memoir A Head of Cabbage. She was the winner of the Jacobs/Jones African American Literary Prize in 2019 with "The Last Straw." an excerpt from her memoir.

Hats Off to Jeanne Julian!

Jeanne Julian did not win a prize--but she was one of 23 poets who reached the finalist stage out of 5,187 contestants in the 2022 Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest offered by Winning Writers. (Their 2023 contest is open for submissions now.) Learn more on Jeanne at her Facebook page and website.

Hats Off to Lee Stockdale!

Lee Stockdale was the 28 August guest of WordPlay, Asheville FM 103.3, interviewed by Lockie Hunter, Jeff Davis, and Jacqui Castle, reading from and speaking about his debut collection, Gorilla, from Main Street Rag Publishing Company. You can listen to the archived show here.

Hats Off to Michael Brantley!

Museum of Americana published his essay "Homeplace" which is a chapter from his forthcoming book (Feb 2023), A Southern Season: Rural Stories. Learn more about Michael here.

Hats Off to Wim Coleman!

His new full-length play "The Mad Scene" was awarded First Place in the Script category of the 91st Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition

Hats Off to Katherine Burnett!

A review of of her novel Judge’s Waltz appeared in in the August issue of PineStraw Magazine. Learn more about Katherine here.

Hats Off to Katherine O’Hara!

Hats Off! to NCWN Communications Director Katherine O'Hara. Her essay “You Have to Trust Me: A Memoir Excerpt in Artifacts and Erasure” from her memoir-in-progress appears in Issue 70 of Hayden’s Ferry Review.

Hats Off to M.C. Bunn!

Hats Off! to M.C. Bunn. Where Your Treasure Is (M. C. Bunn, Bellastoria Press, 2021) has been named a 2022 Eric Hoffer Book Award category finalist. Learn more about M.C. here.